Tony Judt R.I.P.

Tony Judt

Tony Judt, an author of Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945 and Ill Fares the Land is dead at the age of 62. During his last years, Judt was suffering from Lou Gehrig’s disease that had him paralyzed from the neck down and that eventually killed him.

This would be a proper occasion to look up some of his many spirited political essays in the TLS, LRB, NYRB and elsewhere. I, however, decided to reread his extremely personal piece from earlier this year, describing the experience of a great mind being imprisoned in a fast decaying body. Finally now, the night has fallen for good.

One thought on “Tony Judt R.I.P.

  1. I am just finishing Ill Fares the Land which I quote very often in conversation. I loved his short biographies in the New York Review of Books and his death is very much a surprise to me, I did not even know he was sick. Thank you for the note.

Leave a Reply

