Recovery needed

reshelvingSo it is my final working day at Emory today – and it’s about the time, as my eyes are giving in. The vision is becoming hazy and the left eye seems to be particularly bad. Which really is no wonder, given that I’ve spent an average of 10-12 hours a day reading for the last three weeks. I do hope this is simply because of strain and that it will pass once I switch back to somewhat more sensible reading regime. The picture on the side is the pile I returned for reshelving yesterday and consists of the reading material of last two or three days.

I am however very happy about the progress. Not only have I been reading specific things that I need for the writing but also filling a lot of gaps and taking care of several long-standing debts like Auerbach’s Mimesis, Ricœur’s Time and Narrative, Jameson’s Political Unconscious, MacIntyre’s After Virtue and a number of classic articles that I have put off for “another day” for too long. I also have a feeling that I will actually read Iliad before this thing is over :).

But not now. Now I will close my remaining open books and hopefully read nothing at all for a day or two and then get back to DF Wallace and Roberto Bolaño. It is not going to be a very long break though, as the reading list for Cornell arrived last week, consisting of six books – three of which I ordered to the Miami hotel address from amazon and which are already waiting for my arrival. But then again, this is the kind of life that I’ve longed for – lots of books and all the time in the world to read them.

Leave a Reply

